Tuesday 22 November, 2011


08:30 – 09:25

Welcome coffee and registration

09:25 – 09:30


Walter Devenuto , President, EMOTA
James Waterworth , President, EDiMA

09:30 – 09:50

Keynote Presentation - A European legal framework – the missing link for E-Commerce

Paraskevi Michou , Director, DG JUST, European Commission

09:50 – 10:10

Keynote Presentation - E-Commerce as a key driver for Europe's future on the global competitive stage

Hein Pretorius , CEO, MIH Internet Europe

10:10 – 10:30

Keynote Presentation

Minister Michal Boni , Member of the Council of Ministers, The Chancellery of the Prime Minister of the Polish Republic, Government of Poland

10:30 – 11:00

Coffee Break

11:00 – 12:45

Plenary Debate – How can the EU ensure the success of the single market for goods and digital services in Europe?

Additional speakers to be confirmed;
Moderator: Werner Stengg , Head of Unit - On-line services, European Commission
David Dean , Senior Partner and Managing Director, The Boston Consulting Group
Antti Peltomäki , Deputy Director-General DG INFSO, European Commission
Pablo Arias Echeverría , Member, European Parliament
Thomas Carroux , General Manager, Bon Prix
Alex von Schirmeister , Vice President, Marketing, Operations and Advertising, eBay Europe

12:45 – 13:05

Keynote Presentation - Market Study on E-Commerce

John Dalli , EU Commissioner for Health and Consumer Policy, European Commission


13:05 – 14:15

Walking Lunch

14:15 – 16:35

Parallel Sessions

The purpose of the parallel sessions is to enable participants to drill down more effectively and with more focus to the key issues. The sessions will be seminar style and all participants will be able, should they so wish, to engage in detail with the speakers and the topics. Outcomes from these seminar sessions will be presented by the organisers during the final plenary.

14:15 – 15:25

Parallel 1 – IPR, Liability, Copyright and Counterfeit

Moderator: Cecilia Wikström , Member, European Parliament
Kostas Rossoglou , Senior Legal Officer, BEUC
Chris Sherwood , Director Public Policy, Yahoo!
Katarzyna Lasota Heller , EU Public Relations, MIH Group
Jean Bergevin , Head of Unit - Fight against Counterfeiting and Piracy, European Commission
Okke Delfos Visser , Deputy General Counsel, Europe, Motion Picture Association

14:15 – 15:25

Parallel 2 – Consumer Confidence Online

Moderator: Walter Devenuto , President, EMOTA
Sebastian Bohr , Deputy Head of Unit - Financial Services and Redress, European Commission
Edith Appelmans , Director, European Consumer Centre, Belgium
Ron Gainsford , Chief Executive, UK Trading Standards Institute
Jules Stuyck , Faculty of Law, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Jean-Marc Noël , Founder and Managing Director, Trusted Shops

15:25 – 16:35

Parallel 3 - Delivery solutions for tomorrow's e-commerce

Moderator: Patrick Kessler , CFO, RBC Solutions
Werner Stengg , Head of Unit - On-line services, European Commission
Joost Vantomme , Director, Regulatory Affairs, bpost
Markus Ferber , Member, European Parliament
Felix Braun , Lawyer, Zentrum für Europäischen Verbraucherschutz e.V.

15:25 – 16:35

Parallel 4 - Internet Safety

Moderator: Isabelle Chatelier , Legal Officer, EDPS
Thibaut Kleiner , Member of Cabinet Commissioner Kroes, European Commission
Marisa Jimenez , European Privacy Policy Counsel, Google
Jean-François Rochet , General Manager - Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, PayPal
Cornelia Kutterer, LL.M. , Director of Regulatory Policy, Microsoft Corporate Affairs Europe
Yves Lalieu , Business Leader Europe, MasterCard

16:35 – 17:00

Refreshment Break

17:00 – 17:45

Concluding Plenary

Summary remarks from EDiMA/EMOTA Secretariats and final questions and comments:
Jeremy Rollison , Director, EDiMA
Susanne Czech , Secretary General, EMOTA
Razvan Antemir , Legal Affairs Advisor, EMOTA

17:45 – 19:00

Cocktail Reception